Edmonton
Oilers
32-40-10
San Jose
Sharks
43-29-10
SO
26 SOG
30 SOG
1st2nd3rdOTsoT
EDM ()
SJS ()
game preview

PREVIEW: Oilers (25-33-6) at Sharks (33-24-7)

Monday, 03.05.2012 / 11:48 PM

 OILERS at SHARKS - GET THE SCOOP

AT THE TEAM HOTEL San Jose, CA - After playing in Anaheim last night, the Edmonton Oilers have little time to rest as they face off against the struggling San Jose Sharks tonight at the HP Pavilion in San Jose.

The team didn't get into the hotel until very late last night, having to fly out of Ontario, California and fly into Oakland due to respective airport curfews in Orange County and San Jose.

Devan Dubnyk gets the start in goal tonight as the team's lineup is expected to look somewhat different from the night before.

Other additions will likely include Linus Omark and Theo Peckham, while Coach Renney wasn't tipping his hand as to who might draw out -- noting that his lineup is banged up quite a bit right now.

"I anticipate (Omark) will play," said Renney. "I've got some issues I've got to deal with, with some bumps and bruises. I might not know anything, quite honestly, until after the skate."

Some of the players who look to be banged up include Ales Hemsky, who took a spill last night. Eric Belanger also limped off several times due to a blocked shot off his skate early in the game.

"He's an issue," Renney said of Hemsky. "I've got four guys for sure I've got to check on."

Regardless of who draws in or out, Renney said he'd like to get Theo Peckham some action tonight.

"I'd like to get him in anyway," Renney said. "It is contingent a little bit on these other guys."

Peckham hasn't played in over a month, out initially due to injury and now just waiting for an opportunity with the defence healthy.

"He'll get another warm-up in and I'm going to deliver on that promise sooner or later," Renney chuckled.

OMARK RETURNS

Called up yesterday morning where he joined the team in Anaheim, Linus Omark did not suit up last night.

The game would have been Omark's fourth in four nights -- and tonight potentially his fifth in five -- so Renney opted to have him rest.

However, Omark will play tonight and is looking forward to the challenge.

"I just need to go out there and play my game, keep doing what I'm good at," said Omark, noting that not playing last night was probably the best thing for him.

"My legs were pretty heavy (yesterday). I was on the ice this morning and I felt pretty good so I'm looking forward to it."

Omark pointed out that his bothersome ankle is no longer impeding him on the ice.

"I feel 100% now. I'm getting better every game that I play. I'm excited."

-- Marc Ciampa, edmontonoilers.com

NHL.COM GAME PREVIEW Last 10: Edmonton 4-5-1; San Jose 2-7-1.

Season Series: This is the third of four meetings between the teams. The clubs have split the first two contests, with Edmonton evening things up with a 2-1 shootout victory on Jan. 23 at Rexall Place.

Big Story: It's a pivotal game for San Jose, which enters Tuesday's action in eighth place, just one point ahead of both Los Angeles and Colorado. The Sharks are also two points behind both Dallas and Phoenix in the Pacific Division race.

Team Scope:

Oilers: Tuesday concludes the end of Edmonton's brief road trip, which began unsuccessfully with a 4-2 loss to the Anaheim Ducks at the Honda Center on Monday night. Shawn Horcoff had a goal and an assist and Nikolai Khabibulin made 26 saves, but it wasn't enough for the Oilers to prevent them from suffering their 34th regulation loss of the season.

"It's a tough game to play," coach Tom Renney said. "You have to have courage to play this game. You have to have courage to take responsibility of the puck. You have to have courage to give it up in order to get it back the hard way. You have to have the courage to lose a little bit of your identity to fall into the team game and lots of people do that.

"On the nights where we have one guy at the wrong time that does that, it's a problem for us. We don't deal with it very well. You can say we're growing up, but sooner or later, you have to arrive."

Sharks: It's the last of a four-game homestand for San Jose, which suffered its second straight loss in a 3-1 decision against the St. Louis Blues on Saturday night. The Sharks have mustered only two goals in the first three games at HP Pavilion, which included a 1-0 win against Philadelphia last Tuesday.

"We're in a funk and we need to get out of it and get it going," defenseman Douglas Murray said. "It's easy to talk. We have to get it done on the ice, get some wins, get the confidence level up as a team. We're too good a team to let this go on any longer."

Who's Hot: Oilers forward Jordan Eberle scored his team-leading 29th goal of the season Monday night. He has two tallies in his last five games.

Injury Report: Sharks forward Martin Havlat (hamstring) has resumed skating, but is not ready to return just yet.

Stat Pack: Horcoff ended a six-game scoring drought Monday night. … Saturday's game marked San Jose's 100th consecutive sellout.

Puck Drop: "There's times I feel really good, and then a lot of motion and movement makes it hard for one to focus a little bit, but I am getting better every day." -- Sharks coach Todd McLellan, who has missed three straight games with concussion symptoms  

-- Brian Compton, NHL.com

2011-2012 season series
DateScoreW. Goal
Mar 12 '12SJS 3 at EDM 2L. Couture
Mar 06 '12EDM 3 at SJS 2 - SOS. Gagner
Jan 23 '12SJS 1 at EDM 2 - SOT. Hall
Dec 17 '11EDM 2 at SJS 3P. Marleau
PlayerGPGAP+/-PIMPPGW
J. Eberle62303363+1893
T. Hall56232649-430127
R. Smyth66182442-46044
S. Gagner59152742+53250
R. Nugent-Hopkins46152439-6831
S. Horcoff66122032-201840
A. Hemsky5352429-152911
R. Jones63141125-63621
C. Potter4941519-181810
J. Petry5921618-91810
T. Gilbert4731417-41221
E. Belanger6331013-132810
R. Whitney3521113-18820
B. Eager537411-39202
L. Smid663811+04000
A. Sutton423710+66601
L. Petrell48459-74000
M. Paajarvi41268-7400
A. Lander56246-81200
N. Schultz66145-103410
T. Peckham47123-37400
C. Barker21202-11811
J. Green7112-6710
D. Hordichuk30022-44500
C. Teubert20011-41800
R. O'Marra7011+0400
A. Plante3011+0200
P. Cornet2011+0000
L. Omark6000-2200
T. Chorney5000-1000
T. Hartikainen5000-4000
M. Kytnar1000+0000
GoalieGPRec.GASAGAASv%
D. Dubnyk3514-16-19310072.90.908
N. Khabibulin3612-18-5889992.63.912
Y. Danis10-0-02123.75.833
PlayerGPGAP+/-PIMPPGW
J. Thornton65144559+142212
L. Couture63272653+61283
P. Marleau65262652+62288
J. Pavelski65232548+142771
D. Boyle6463137+95731
R. Clowe59122436-27842
B. Burns64102131+72852
J. McGinn61121224+12630
M. Handzus6271623-41820
D. Moore6241721-105001
D. Winnik6751419-104400
M. Vlasic6541519+143401
T. Mitchell6061016-11400
M. Havlat2621315+81610
T. Galiardi598614-64902
A. Desjardins5931013+44002
J. Demers422911-72211
B. Winchester636410-48100
J. Braun51279-42110
B. Ferriero29718+0804
T. Wingels21336-21600
C. White46134-61900
A. Murray39134+3400
J. Vandermeer23134+33300
D. Murray47044+72700
J. McCarthy10000-21000
F. McLaren7000+0900
GoalieGPRec.GASAGAASv%
A. Niemi5125-17-711913792.43.914
T. Greiss178-7-1394522.36.914