Oilers double up Blue Jackets 6-3 in matinee

Marc Ciampa  - edmontonoilers.com | Wednesday, 08.06.2014 / 4:49 AM

Ryan Jones had three points -- a goal and two assists -- while Ryan Nugent-Hopkins, Jordan Eberle and Ryan Whitney had two assists apiece as the Edmonton Oilers cruised to a 6-3 win over the Columbus Blue Jackets at Nationwide Arena on Sunday afternoon.


Ryan Smyth took the game's first penalty two minutes and 13 seconds into the game. The veteran winger was sent off for high sticking.

With five seconds to go in the minor, Rick Nash pushed Theo Peckham from behind as the Oilers defenceman lost his footing in the corner of his own zone. Peckham went head first into the boards and had to be helped off the ice.

Nash received two minutes for boarding but the Oilers were unable to generate much in the way of offence during their first man advantage of the night. 

Just past the midway point, Sam Gagner received two minutes for tripping to put Columbus back on the power play. Shots on goal to that point in the game were 5 to 2 for the Jackets.

Devan Dubnyk came up huge with about six minutes to play in the opening frame. He made the initial stop then recovered to deny Nash in a blast from the left circle.

Columbus took the lead with 3:14 to play in the period. Mark Letestu pounced on the puck at the top of the crease and fired it just under the crossbar to make it 1-0 for Columbus.

Shots on goal following the first period ended up at 13 to 11 in favour of Edmonton.


Jordan Eberle had a chance to tie the game early in the period after cutting in front of the net but he was held up and hauled down by Nikita Nikitin, putting the Oilers on their second power play of the game.

Moments after the penalty expired, Ryan Whitney's blast from the point was tipped by Ryan Jones in the slot past Mason to even the game at one goal apiece.

Seven minutes into the middle frame, Rick Nash was hauled down as he broke through the Oilers defence. The puck went in but it wasn't until after the net was dislodged as Nash slid into Dubnyk.

The result of the play was no goal and a penalty shot awarded to Nash. On the penalty shot, Nash made no mistake, wristing it in to give Columbus a 2-1 lead.

The Oilers tied it again 11:40 into the period as Chris VandeVelde's wrister went off the blocker of Mason and into the net. The goal was VandeVelde's first in his NHL career.

Several minutes later, Ladislav Smid teed up a blast from the left point that beat Mason to give the Oilers their first lead of the game. Ryan Nugent-Hopkins dished it to Smid, earning the assist and taking back the NHL's rookie scoring lead.

Through the first 15 minutes of the period, shots were 10-4 for the Oilers.

At the 16-minute mark, Ben Eager fired a shot from the left faceoff circle dot that weakly beat Mason through the five hole, giving Edmonton a 4-2 lead.

Sam Gagner added a power play goal in the final minute of the second period with a quick wrister from 20 feet out, extended Edmonton's lead to 5-2.

After two periods, shots on goal were 26 to 18 for the Oilers.


Allen York came in to replace Steve Mason to start the third period for the Blue Jackets.

The Oilers killed off a four-on-three Columbus power-play in the early portion of the period to keep it a three-goal game. Coincidental penalties to VandeVelde and Dorsett for roughing were followed very shortly afterwards by an Ales Hemsky hooking minor to set up the man advantage.

Columbus netted a power play goal with the third period winding down to cut Edmonton's lead to two goals. Derrick Brassard scored the marker early in the man advantage.

Eric Belanger added an empty-net goal to make the final 6-3

Scoring Summary
1st Period
16:46CBJ Mark Letestu (10) ASST: Aaron Johnson (12) 1 - 0 CBJ
2nd Period
03:40EDM Ryan Jones (17) ASST: Ryan Whitney (15), Ryan Nugent-Hopkins (30) 1 - 1 Tie
07:42CBJ PS - Rick Nash (26) ASST: NONE 2 - 1 CBJ
11:40EDM Chris VandeVelde (1) ASST: Jordan Eberle (40), Jeff Petry (21) 2 - 2 Tie
14:28EDM Ladislav Smid (5) ASST: Ryan Nugent-Hopkins (31), Ryan Jones (14) 3 - 2 EDM
16:00EDM Ben Eager (8) ASST: NONE 4 - 2 EDM
19:29EDM PPG - Sam Gagner (17) ASST: Jordan Eberle (41), Ryan Whitney (16) 5 - 2 EDM
3rd Period
14:22CBJ PPG - Derick Brassard (13) ASST: R.J. Umberger (18), Rick Nash (24) 5 - 3 EDM
18:10EDM SHG - EN - Eric Belanger (4) ASST: Ryan Jones (15), Ladislav Smid (10) 6 - 3 EDM
Three Stars of the Game
Ryan Jones
Ryan Jones
G: 1Shots: 4
A: 2Hits: 2
PTS: 3PIM: 0
+/-: 3TOI: 20:06
Rick Nash
Rick Nash
G: 1Shots: 8
A: 1Hits: 0
PTS: 2PIM: 2
+/-: 0TOI: 21:38
Ladislav Smid
Ladislav Smid
G: 1Shots: 4
A: 1Hits: 2
PTS: 2PIM: 0
+/-: 3TOI: 21:52
Penalty Summary
1st Period
02:13EDM Ryan Smyth  Hi-sticking against  Derek Dorsett
04:08CBJ Rick Nash  Boarding against  Theo Peckham
10:28EDM Sam Gagner  Tripping against  Nikita Nikitin
2nd Period
01:36CBJ Nikita Nikitin  Hooking against  Jordan Eberle
09:39CBJ Darryl Boyce  Slashing against  Eric Belanger
09:39EDM Eric Belanger  Slashing against  Darryl Boyce
18:10CBJ Aaron Johnson  Cross checking against  Ryan Jones
3rd Period
01:31EDM Chris VandeVelde  Roughing against  Derek Dorsett
01:31CBJ Derek Dorsett  Roughing against  Chris VandeVelde
01:44EDM Ales Hemsky  Hooking against  Rick Nash
03:48EDM Corey Potter  Tripping against  R.J. Umberger
10:37CBJ Colton Gillies  Hi-sticking against  Teemu Hartikainen
13:28EDM Teemu Hartikainen  Delaying the game
17:52EDM Ben Eager  Slashing against  Brett Lebda
shots by period
Team Stats
Power Plays1/41/6
Faceoff Wins2737
Blocked Shots75
Penalty Minutes1612
5L. SmidD1134021:52
6R. WhitneyD0222023:57
14J. EberleR0220017:23
15N. SchultzD0011021:32
16D. HordichukL000204:58
20E. BelangerC1012212:40
23L. OmarkL00-10010:18
24T. PeckhamD00-1004:36
28R. JonesL1234020:06
44C. PotterD0021219:38
54C. VandeVeldeC1021211:16
55B. EagerL101328:19
56T. HartikainenC0002213:34
58J. PetryD0114024:57
83A. HemskyR0014219:08
89S. GagnerC1004219:07
94R. SmythL0001216:21
40D. Dubnyk2932.90660:00
4J. MooreD0011010:51
5A. JohnsonD01-12215:31
6N. NikitinD00-20224:17
7J. JohnsonD00-43029:23
9C. GilliesC000127:01
13C. AtkinsonR00-10016:26
15D. DorsettR00-42215:45
16D. BrassardC10-12019:30
17M. LetestuC1002020:45
18R. UmbergerC01-24020:36
19R. JohansenC000007:41
22V. ProspalL0002018:28
23B. LebdaD00-10016:33
25R. RussellL00-2209:30
40J. BollR000007:54
43D. BoyceC00-21211:19
58D. SavardD00-12016:12
61R. NashL1108221:38
1S. Mason2126.80839:41
41A. York11111.00019:40