Lightning strike down Oilers in 3-2 shootout loss

Marc Ciampa  - edmontonoilers.com | Wednesday, 08.06.2014 / 4:49 AM

Ladislav Smid scored late in the third period to force overtime but the Edmonton Oilers ultimately fell to the Tampa Bay Lightning in a shootout at the Tampa Bay Times Forum on Thursday night.

Tom Pyatt led the way for the Lightning with a pair of goals while Nikolai Khabibulin made 17 saves in his first game back in Tampa Bay since the 2004 Stanley Cup Finals.

Linus Omark scored the other goal for Edmonton.


Early in the period, Ales Hemsky made a nice move to get around Lightning defender Victor Hedman to spring himself on a breakaway. He used his speed to create some separation but his shot on goal was denied by Tampa Bay starting goalie Dwayne Roloson.

Linus Omark, playing on a line with Ryan Smyth and Shawn Horcoff, narrowly missed a chance to take the lead for Edmonton. Smyth fed the puck across the slot to Omark who had the open net but the puck skipped over his stick.

Moments later, Smyth had a chance in the slot putting an Omark rebound on net but Roloson made the stop.

Edmonton had a 8-0 lead on the shot clock which held until about 12 minutes into the frame when the Bolts got their first shot on goal. Khabibulin actually had to be sharp in stopping a flurry of three shots for the Lightning.

Ryan Smyth took a high sticking penalty at the 16:34 mark to put the Lightning on the game's first man advantage but the Oilers were able to kill it off without allowing a shot on goal.

Shots after one period were 15 to 7 in favour of Edmonton.


Steven Stamkos got a breakaway early in the second period. He tried to deke but Khabibulin was equal to the task in kicking out the puck for the save.

Moments later, Jordan Eberle broke in alone for the Oilers but Keith Aulie slid over to break up the play before Eberle could get a shot on goal.

With Smyth in the penalty box for the second time, Tampa Bay struck for the game's first goal. Hedman spun around before dishing the puck over to Tom Pyatt who chipped the puck by Khabibulin to make it 1-0.

A penalty to Tampa Bay's Brendan Mikkelson put the Oilers on the power play for the first time but the weren't able to accomplish anything approaching dangerous during the two-minute allottment.

Linus Omark scored to tie the game at 1-1, redirecting a Ryan Whitney shot past Roloson for the goal.

Late in the period, Hemsky set up Whitney for a one timer which Roloson came across and gloved.

With 1:42 left in the period, the Lightning struck to make it 2-1. Pyatt picked up the puck behind the net and skated around to put it past Khabibulin for his second of the game.

Shots after 40 minutes were 25 to 18 for the Oilers.


Near the midway point, Ales Hemsky nearly pulled off a one-man show as he drove to the net and tried to deke out Dwayne Roloson from in-close but the Lightning netminder was equal to the task.

A couple minutes later, Eberle fired a quick shot that Roloson blocked with his shoulder.

Roloson made a brilliant stop on Omark as he tried to push it past the Lightning netminder with a nice soft touch. Roloson just got a toe on the puck.

However, moments later, Ryan Nugent-Hopkins found Ladislav Smid pinching. The Czech defender swooped in to one-time it for the goal.

Edmonton outshot Tampa Bay 11 to 1 in the third.


Edmonton carried the territorial advantage early on in the extra frame. However, a penalty with two minutes left to Jeff Petry turned the tide.

The Bolts had a few chances on the man advantage but only one shot on goal. The Oilers were able to hold them off.


Tom Pyatt - stopped
Jordan Eberle - stopped

Ryan Malone - missed
Sam Gagner - scored

Steven Stamkos - scored
Linus Omark - stopped

Martin St. Louis - scored
Ales Hemsky - scored

Victor Hedman - stopped
Teemu Hartikainen - stopped

Teddy Purcell - scored
Ryan Smyth - stopped

Scoring Summary
1st Period
2nd Period
03:24TBL PPG - Tom Pyatt (9) ASST: Victor Hedman (12), Brett Connolly (10) 1 - 0 TBL
09:57EDM Linus Omark (3) ASST: Ryan Whitney (14), Ryan Smyth (26) 1 - 1 Tie
18:18TBL Tom Pyatt (10) ASST: JT Wyman (9), Tim Wallace (3) 2 - 1 TBL
3rd Period
16:13EDM Ladislav Smid (4) ASST: Ryan Nugent-Hopkins (28), Sam Gagner (29) 2 - 2 Tie
OT Period
1TBLTom Pyatt - Save
2EDMJordan Eberle - Save
3TBLRyan Malone - Missed
4EDMSam Gagner - Goal
5TBLSteven Stamkos - Goal
6EDMLinus Omark - Save
7TBLMartin St. Louis - Goal
8EDMAles Hemsky - Goal
9TBLVictor Hedman - Missed
10EDMTeemu Hartikainen - Save
11TBLTeddy Purcell - Goal
12EDMRyan Smyth - Missed
Shootout Summary
RNDTampa Bay LightningEdmonton Oilers
1Tom PyattJordan Eberle
2Ryan MaloneSam Gagner
3Steven StamkosLinus Omark
4Martin St. LouisAles Hemsky
5Victor HedmanTeemu Hartikainen
6Teddy PurcellRyan Smyth
Three Stars of the Game
Dwayne Roloson
Dwayne Roloson
SA: 36TOI: 65:00
GA: 2EV: 34-36
PIM: 0PP: 0-0
SV%: .944SH: 0-0
Tom Pyatt
Tom Pyatt
G: 2Shots: 3
A: 0Hits: 0
PTS: 2PIM: 0
+/-: 1TOI: 18:45
Corey Potter
Corey Potter
G: 0Shots: 1
A: 0Hits: 7
PTS: 0PIM: 0
+/-: -1TOI: 19:26
Penalty Summary
1st Period
16:34EDM Ryan Smyth  Hi-sticking against  Tom Pyatt
2nd Period
01:46EDM Ryan Smyth  Hooking against  JT Wyman
05:26TBL Brendan Mikkelson  Tripping against  Linus Omark
11:13EDM Andy Sutton  Hooking against  Martin St. Louis
3rd Period
OT Period
03:00EDM Jeff Petry  Tripping against  Steven Stamkos
shots by period
Team Stats
Power Plays0/11/4
Faceoff Wins2127
Blocked Shots1514
Penalty Minutes82
5L. SmidD1012023:41
6R. WhitneyD0111022:58
10S. HorcoffC0012019:57
14J. EberleR00-11020:47
15N. SchultzD0001022:15
16D. HordichukL000000:53
20E. BelangerC0000010:26
23L. OmarkL1016012:33
25A. SuttonD0002216:52
28R. JonesL00-13018:02
44C. PotterD00-11019:26
55B. EagerL000106:54
56T. HartikainenC0002015:44
58J. PetryD0012223:17
83A. HemskyR0005022:37
89S. GagnerC0111019:42
94R. SmythL0124418:24
35N. Khabibulin1921.90565:00
2E. BrewerD00-10022:53
3K. AulieD0010011:53
7B. ClarkD00-10017:50
11T. PyattC2013018:45
12R. MaloneL00-14024:34
14B. ConnollyR01-10018:15
15B. LeeD0000016:42
16T. PurcellL00-10024:10
20T. WallaceR0101011:26
21B. SegalR000107:17
23M. CommodoreD0000013:26
24T. SmithC0002015:44
26M. St. LouisR00-12026:12
29B. MikkelsonD0000215:27
34J. WymanR0111014:35
76P. LabrieL000006:34
77V. HedmanD01-11024:42
91S. StamkosC00-16027:35
30D. Roloson3436.94465:00