Fast start, shootout finish earns Oilers 3-2 win over Sharks

Marc Ciampa  - edmontonoilers.com | Wednesday, 08.06.2014 / 4:49 AM

Jordan Eberle scored 10 seconds into the game and Sam Gagner netted the shootout winner as the Edmonton Oilers won 3-2 over the San Jose Sharks at HP Pavilion on Tuesday night.

Ryan Smyth scored the other Oilers goal while Jim Vandermeer and Ryane Clowe tallied for San Jose.


It didn't take the Oilers long to get on the board as Dan Boyle mishandled a dump-in by Ryan Whitney 10 seconds into the opening period. Whitney's dump-in hit the stick of Gagner and took a weird bounce which fooled Boyle. Jordan Eberle skated in to pick up the puck and swat it past Sharks netminder Antti Niemi.

The Sharks came right back to tie it three minutes later. Jim Vandermeer teed up a blast from the left point past Devan Dubnyk glove side to make it 1-1. Boyle kept the puck in after the Oilers tried to clear the zone.

San Jose continued to carry the play as the period continued. Shots on goal 14 minutes into the frame were 11 to 4 for the Sharks.

Ales Hemsky had a chance to put the Oilers back in front with about four minutes to play in the period. He drove to the net with the puck and tried to cut in front but was chopped down before he could make his move.

Gagner also had a great opportunity in the final minute, getting set up with a perfect feed from Taylor Hall and an open side but he just missed the net. 

Shots after 20 minutes were 12 to 7 for the Sharks.


The middle frame got off to a slow start, with two shots on goal for the Sharks and one for the Oilers in the period's opening five minutes.

Edmonton started to pick up their play as the period reached the midway point, carrying the play into the Sharks end more often but as of the 11-minute mark still no bona fide scoring chance.

Linus Omark tried to get something going in the latter half of the period, buzzing around the Sharks end for most of his shift. he fired two shots during the shift, tying him with Eberle for the team lead in that category to that point in the game with three.

With 4:41 to go in the second, Dubnyk mishandled a Sharks dump-in. It was quickly scooped up behind the net by Logan Couture and fed out to Ryane Clowe in front. Clowe quickly converted it into the back of the net to give San Jose a 2-1 lead.

54 seconds later, Ryan Smyth tipped in a Jeff Petry blast from the left point while perched in front of the net to put Edmonton back on even terms at 2-2.

After being outshot in the opening frame, the Oilers returned the favour in the second, outshooting San Jose 11 to 5.


The Oilers pressed for the go-ahead goal early in the third. Shawn Horcoff was robbed by Niemi as the Sharks netminder was sprawled out and spread out his pads to make the big stop.

Moments later, Justin Braun tried to clear the puck out but ended up clearing it over the glass to give Edmonton the game's first power play on either side.

On the ensuing man advantage, Edmonton buzzed around the Sharks goal but could not pounce on the loose puck as it danced around the crease. About a minute in, Horcoff received a tripping minor to negate the Oilers power play and eventually put the Sharks on a five-on-four.

With 42 seconds left in the Horcoff minor, Ryan Jones was also sent off, putting San Jose on a two-man advantage.

The Oilers penalty killers did a good job keeping the game knotted at 2-2. Shortly after the penalty to Jones expired, Joe Pavelski wired a shot off the post behind Dubnyk.

Shots in the third period were 12 to 6 for San Jose, mirroring the opening frame but neither team scored, sending the game to overtime.


Midway through the extra frame, Jordan Eberle made some nice moves with the puck to try and get position in the Sharks end but could not turn that into a scoring chance.

The only two shots in the period came off the Oilers' sticks as overtime solved nothing.


Joe Pavelski was stopped by Dubnyk, while Jordan Eberle rang his attempt off the post.

Dubnyk denied Michal Handzus and Sam Gagner scored to put the Oilers in front in the showdown with a seeing-eye shot that made it past Niemi.

Brent Burns was denied by Dubnyk to give the Oilers the win.

Scoring Summary
1st Period
00:10EDM Jordan Eberle (30) ASST: Sam Gagner (27), Ryan Whitney (11) 1 - 0 EDM
03:17SJS Jim Vandermeer (1) ASST: Dan Boyle (31) 1 - 1 Tie
2nd Period
15:19SJS Ryane Clowe (12) ASST: Logan Couture (26) 2 - 1 SJS
16:13EDM Ryan Smyth (18) ASST: Jeff Petry (16), Ladislav Smid (8) 2 - 2 Tie
3rd Period
OT Period
1SJSJoe Pavelski - Save
2EDMJordan Eberle - Missed
3SJSMichal Handzus - Save
4EDMSam Gagner - Goal
5SJSBrent Burns - Save
Shootout Summary
RNDSan Jose SharksEdmonton Oilers
1Joe PavelskiJordan Eberle
2Michal HandzusSam Gagner
3Brent Burns
Three Stars of the Game
Devan Dubnyk
Devan Dubnyk
SA: 30TOI: 65:00
GA: 2EV: 26-28
PIM: 0PP: 1-1
SV%: .933SH: 1-1
Antti Niemi
Antti Niemi
SA: 26TOI: 65:00
GA: 2EV: 23-25
PIM: 0PP: 1-1
SV%: .923SH: 0-0
Ryane Clowe
Ryane Clowe
G: 1Shots: 5
A: 0Hits: 1
PTS: 1PIM: 0
+/-: 1TOI: 19:08
Penalty Summary
1st Period
2nd Period
3rd Period
06:05SJS Justin Braun  Delaying Game-Puck over glass
07:01EDM Shawn Horcoff  Tripping against  Douglas Murray
08:20EDM Ryan Jones  Hi-sticking against  Brent Burns
OT Period
shots by period
Team Stats
Power Plays0/10/2
Faceoff Wins2238
Blocked Shots2415
Penalty Minutes42
4T. HallL0001021:07
5L. SmidD0110021:06
6R. WhitneyD0100025:28
10S. HorcoffC0001213:47
14J. EberleR10-13020:49
15N. SchultzD0002018:12
20E. BelangerC0000011:46
23L. OmarkL0003010:16
24T. PeckhamD00-20018:30
28R. JonesL0000212:45
37L. PetrellL0000010:58
44C. PotterD0012022:31
55B. EagerL0001011:33
58J. PetryD0102023:17
83A. HemskyR0012016:54
89S. GagnerC0103020:54
94R. SmythL1004018:22
40D. Dubnyk2830.93365:00
2J. VandermeerD1013010:46
3D. MurrayD0010019:41
5C. WhiteD0000017:15
8J. PavelskiC00-13014:57
12P. MarleauL00-13019:30
17T. MitchellC00-12012:22
18D. MooreC0000015:20
19J. ThorntonC00-10022:07
22D. BoyleD0103026:07
26M. HandzusC0001012:55
29R. CloweL1015019:08
34D. WinnikL0002015:37
37T. GaliardiL0002012:06
39L. CoutureC0111017:56
44M. VlasicD00-10024:05
57T. WingelsC0011016:21
61J. BraunD0002218:43
88B. BurnsD0002023:04
31A. Niemi2426.92365:00