Hall scores early in OT as Oilers win 4-3

Ryan Dittrick  - edmontonoilers.com | Wednesday, 08.06.2014 / 4:49 AM

Taylor Hall scored 17 seconds into overtime, while Nikolai Khabibulin stopped 39 shots as the Edmonton Oilers kicked off Hockey Day in Canada with a 4-3 win over the Ottawa Senators at Scotiabank Place.

Also in the victory, Magnus Paajarvi collected his first goal of the season and first since Apr. 6, 2011 in Calgary.


Ottawa was put on the power-play at 2:35 when Taylor Hall was charged with tripping, stamping the Senators' early control. Edmonton 12th-ranked, 82.8-percent penalty kill appeared to have stopped the attack as Nikolai Khabibulin came up with a pair of huge right-toe saves on Milan Michalek and Jason Spezza; but, moments later, a long-range wrister by Daniel Alfredsson eluded the 39-year-old veteran, putting the Senators up 1-0 at 4:36 -- just as Hall's minor expired.

Khabibulin's pads continued to keep the Oilers in it as Tom Gilbert rifled a no-look pass up the gut, where Spezza picked off the unforced error and snapped a shot on goal. The Senators' ninth attempt in only seven minutes was turned aside, however.

As the period's 10-minute mark approached and with the Oilers still looking to attain some sustained pressure, Hall drove hard to the net in the Senators end and drew a tripping call on Brian Lee. The orange and blue added four shots to their tally, but were unable to crack Craig Anderson.

Hall was assessed his second minor of the period with 6:39 to play when he clipped Anderson in the crease, drawing a goaltender interference penalty. The Senators orchestrated a nifty high-slot tip off Michalek's stick, but the redirection caught Khabibulin's blocker-side post, preventing any further damage on the scoreboard.

With 20 minutes in the books, the Senators continued to lead 1-0 and were in possession of a 17-12 advantage on the shot clock.


Following a disappointing opening period, the Oilers got a chance to pull even early in the second when the Senators were caught with too many men, putting the NHL's second-best power-play back to work. While Jordan Eberle got the advantage's best chance, sniping a wide-side bullet on the goalie, Anderson made a thrilling glove denial to preserve his club's one-goal lead.

As the period's midway point passed, the Senators had extended to a 29-23 lead in shots, but the Oilers were unable to inch any closer to the home side's count on the scoreboard.

While scoring chances were scarce in the middle period, the Oilers eventually made good. With Ales Hemsky dancing in the zone, No. 83 centered the puck with a quick shot on goal. Anderson stopped the initial attempt, but the rebound popped into the slot, where a quick-to-the-scene Magnus Paajarvi potted his first goal of the season.

2:18 later and on the Senators' 33rd shot, the home side regained the lead. Michalek burst down the seem, beating a chasing Jeff Petry in the process to spring himself on a breakaway. With a creative backhand move, Ottawa's No. 9 beat Khabibulin through the wickets, snapping a 12-game goalless drought and putting his team up 2-1 at 16:23.

The Oilers wasted no time in getting back on even terms. With Ryan Jones playing a pick at the offensive blueline, Ben Eager scooped up the loose disc and raced in on goal. With a quick snapshot at 18:52, the ex-Oshawa General tied the score, notching his sixth of the year.

After two periods, the Senators held a slim 34-29 edge in shots.


It took the Oilers only 42 seconds to cash another, giving the orange and blue a 3-2 lead. Hemsky was the catalyst once more, dishing a cross-seam pass across to Shawn Horcoff at the near hash marks. The Oilers' captain collected the pass for a quick moment before snapping a wrister past Anderon's blocker-side.

With 10:30 on the clock, the Senators pulled even. In a simllar play to Chris Phillips' goal on Thursday vs. Nashville, Erik Karlsson pounced on a bouncing puck in the slot; the sophomore then ripped a snapshot through bodies and on goal, beating Khabibulin and making it a 3-3 game.

The Oilers carried the play for much of the period, but were unable to cash the game-winner. As such, the game progressed to overtime.


The Oilers wasted no time, as a pinballing puck in the crease allowed Taylor Hall pounced with a backhand opportunity, chipping the puck past a sprawling Anderson to collect the game-winner 17 seconds in.

Scoring Summary
1st Period
04:36OTT Daniel Alfredsson (19) ASST: Erik Karlsson (41), Jason Spezza (33) 1 - 0 OTT
2nd Period
14:05EDM Magnus Paajarvi (1) ASST: Ales Hemsky (19), Shawn Horcoff (17) 1 - 1 Tie
16:23OTT Milan Michalek (24) ASST: Jason Spezza (34), Bobby Butler (7) 2 - 1 OTT
18:52EDM Ben Eager (6) ASST: Jeff Petry (13), Anton Lander (4) 2 - 2 Tie
3rd Period
00:42EDM Shawn Horcoff (10) ASST: Ales Hemsky (20), Magnus Paajarvi (6) 3 - 2 EDM
09:30OTT Erik Karlsson (9) ASST: NONE 3 - 3 Tie
OT Period
00:17EDM Taylor Hall (19) ASST: Shawn Horcoff (18), Tom Gilbert (13) 4 - 3 EDM
Three Stars of the Game
Nikolai Khabibulin
Nikolai Khabibulin
SA: 42TOI: 60:17
GA: 3EV: 35-38
PIM: 0PP: 3-3
SV%: .929SH: 1-1
Milan Michalek
Milan Michalek
G: 1Shots: 8
A: 0Hits: 0
PTS: 1PIM: 0
+/-: -1TOI: 19:36
Taylor Hall
Taylor Hall
G: 1Shots: 6
A: 0Hits: 1
PTS: 1PIM: 4
+/-: 0TOI: 16:27
Penalty Summary
1st Period
02:25EDM Taylor Hall  Tripping against  Daniel Alfredsson
09:08OTT Brian Lee  Tripping against  Taylor Hall
13:21EDM Taylor Hall  Interference on goalkeeper against  Craig Anderson
2nd Period
02:50OTT Nick Foligno  Too many men/ice - bench
3rd Period
OT Period
shots by period
Team Stats
Power Plays0/20/2
Faceoff Wins2833
Blocked Shots1716
Penalty Minutes44
4T. HallL1006416:27
5L. SmidD0000023:13
6R. WhitneyD0012023:59
10S. HorcoffC1223018:27
14J. EberleR0002017:10
20E. BelangerC0002016:13
25A. SuttonD00-10015:06
28R. JonesL0011016:05
37L. PetrellL00-2109:09
44C. PotterD0002012:06
55B. EagerL100208:38
57A. LanderC01-1109:56
58J. PetryD0105022:58
77T. GilbertD0122020:18
83A. HemskyR0211017:25
89S. GagnerC0004017:41
91M. PaajarviL1114015:04
94R. SmythL0002017:13
35N. Khabibulin3942.92960:17
2J. CowenD00-10013:52
4C. PhillipsD00-11019:17
5B. LeeD00-10214:44
7K. TurrisC0014016:31
9M. MichalekL10-18019:36
11D. AlfredssonR1024019:09
14C. GreeningC0011013:57
15Z. SmithC0001012:32
16B. ButlerR01-10013:09
17F. KubaD0011024:44
19J. SpezzaC02-15019:27
22E. CondraR0000012:01
23K. DaugavinsL000107:44
25C. NeilR00-13014:07
42J. O'BrienC00-14011:37
55S. GoncharD00-11020:49
65E. KarlssonD1115027:20
71N. FolignoL00-13016:32
41C. Anderson3640.90060:17