BLOG: Eakins on Hall penalty
Taylor Hall was assessed an unsportsmanlike conduct penalty to close out the first period. After Gagner's five minute major and game misconduct, the Hall penalty put the Oilers down two men at the start of the second.
The Avalanche capitalized on the 5-on-3 advantage.
Head Coach Dallas Eakins addressed the penalties and his response after the game.
"The Gagner penalty was a penalty," said Eakins. "I thought it was by accident. When his stick came up, I thought you could see it immediately that when the guy went down Gags was concerned. When you mean to do it, you skate away with a smirk on your face.
"All I was looking for from the official was the explanation. He went over to the box, signalled two minutes with his finger, did the cross-check, put Sam in the box and suddenly everything changed after the jumbotron showed it."
Coach Eakins added Hall was not the player who said something to the referee at the end of the period.
"I came out at the start of the (second) period after a cooling-down period, as we're supposed to do as coaches, and was basically told by the ref to… well, I can't say what he said to me. Just looking for simple explanations, but couldn't get them."